Monday Meme, Should I Write Today

As funny as this looks, it actually means something.

Shocker, something put on the internet actually has something meaningful to it. ;D Then again, I could be plastering some form of my own meaning upon the piece. I see this and think about my own writing and experiences within the years that i have started to reap the benefits of my cultivation.

If i would see this four years ago, or maybe longer, six years ago, I would laugh as a fifteen year old would do and say 1) you cant make me do shit and 2) I don’t have to write everyday. So I wouldn’t. Writing was my hobby, something I did in my spare time and when people wanted to read something. So I didn’t have to write every day.

Now, I wish to further myself, get into area’s I never thought possible. Should I write everyday?

The answer is an overwhelming YES.

As an author you MUST write everyday, no matter what it is for you must continuously go and work on completing manuscripts and meeting deadlines. This dedication is what gets books finished. Its what gets someone through the thousands of words poured upon a page, and what ties every loose end that you accidentally write while going much to fast on your first draft. Becoming lackadaisical about your prose will only generate prose on the level that you work; not to mention it won’t really get done in any sense of the word.

One has to treat writing as a job if they strive to become an author. Find a daily goal and hit it, every day. That could be a page, 1,000 words, a chapter, what have you. If you can reach this goal every day, you could have a full length novel in less than a month and a half. First draft. And thats ONLY if you hit your goal. Those that participate in NanoWrimo understand the constant writing to get to their goal.

It isn’t always easy, and sometimes you might not have all of the time that you wish to use, but writing is your job. Just as going to school, classes, into the office or being a parent. Take time for your manuscript, nurture it, love it, and make it grow. That is the only way I believe a writer can not only get over Writersblock, but can essentially meet deadlines they didn’t think they could meet.

Should you write today? Yes? Get to writing. No? Yes you should, Get to writing.

Leave a comment